The history of the Hotel Tadoussac
The first Hotel Tadoussac was built in 1864 by wealthy citizens of Montreal and Quebec City. It featured a broad facade of twelve windows and three stories. In 1879, the building was sold for the price of $12,000. In 1888, the hotel underwent its first complete renovation. It the autumn of 1941, the aging structure was torn down.
The following year, 1942, the Hotel Tadoussac was rebuilt by William Hugh Coverdale, president of the Canada Steamship Lines. Inaugurated on the 27th of June that summer, the revamped hotel featured 137 rooms: 47 double-rooms and 20 singles with bathtubs, and another 33 doubles with showers. All of the rooms boasted running water, hot and cold. A cutting-edge system of sprinklers was installed to guard against fire.
Today, grateful of that rich history, the Hotel Tadoussac preserves its unique charm. Over time, it has become a destination not be missed for thousands of visitors ever year, hailing from all corners of the globe!